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UNION COUNTY ENGINEER  
 

DIVISION OF BUILDING REGULATIONS 

 

Residential Deck and Covered Porch Requirements 
2019 Residential Code of Ohio 

 

Application Procedures 
 

➢ *A nonrefundable application fee of $35.00 is due at the time of application. 
 

➢ *A nonrefundable $105.00 plan review fee is due at the time of application. 
▪ Due at time of submittal: $141.40 

 

➢ Building and electrical (if applicable) permit fees are to be paid at the time the permit is 
issued. Fees are based on the square footage.  

 

➢ *All fees (plan review and permit fees) will be assessed a 1% fee collected on behalf of 
the Ohio Board of Building Standards. 
 

➢ Permit is issued after plans are reviewed, approved and fees are paid. 
 

➢ A separate deck permit is not required when the deck is constructed as part of a new 

home. The deck will be included in the permit for structure if it is shown on the approved 

plans and associated fees are paid. 
 

➢ Submit a zoning permit from your township or city (required in most jurisdictions). 
 

➢ Health department site plan approval, for properties with well and septic systems. 
 

➢ Submit site plans showing the house and deck location.  
 

➢ Submit two building plans of deck to be built. 
o Plans are to include deck layout, post location, concrete footing size and post to 

beam connection details. 

o Also, to include the location of GFCI electrical outlet installed within the perimeter 

of any balcony, deck or porch as required by the 2017 National Electric Code. 

 
 

Inspection Procedures 

➢ Call for post hole inspection after all holes have been dug and before any concrete has 
been placed, holes must be clear of any debris. 

➢ Call for frame inspection if the bottom of the deck joists is less 36” above grade. If the 
joists are over 36” above grade the frame inspection can be done with the final 
inspection. 

➢ Call for a final inspection when the deck is complete, all handrails/guardrails and 
steps/stair have been installed.  

 
 

TO SCHEDULE AN INSPECTION 

 

Schedule through your online portal at: https://unioncountyoh.portal.opengov.com 
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DECKS GREATER THAN 4 FEET ABOVE GRADE  
SHALL BE PROVIDED WITH DIAGONAL BRACING 

 
Provide blocking when the floor joists do not align with the posts 

 Openings shall not allow passage of a sphere 4-inches in diameter 

34-inch 
minimum 

8-inch 
minimum 

Typical at each post 
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